Jun. 22, 2020

HARRISBURG – Lancaster County state Rep. Bryan Cutler (R-Lancaster) has been elected to serve as the 141st speaker of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives by a majority vote. He was sworn in to serve out the 2019-20 legislative session.

Cumberland County state Reps. Sheryl Delozier (R-Mechanicsburg), Torren Ecker (R-Mount Holly Springs), Barb Gleim (R-Carlisle), Dawn Keefer (R-Monroe Township), Mark Keller (R-Shippensburg) and Greg Rothman (R-Mechanicsburg) issued the following statement in reaction to the decision:

“Bryan Cutler is an outstanding choice to serve as speaker of the House, and the future of our chamber under his leadership is bright. In his role as majority leader, Bryan demonstrated outstanding leadership skills in directing our caucus. He was both firm and compassionate, emblematic of his background in health care and the legal profession. Bryan willingly reached across the aisle to our Democrat colleagues in the hope of gaining consensus while also standing firm on principles in which he deeply believed.

“That said, we are confident he will execute the office of speaker with the same level of compassion and acumen he did as majority leader. Speaker Cutler’s willingness to work with both sides of the chamber will serve the House well, in addition to benefitting the citizens of Pennsylvania.”

Cumberland County House Delegation
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Scott Little
717.260.6137 (office), 717.497.5967 (cell)